Homophobia is real

I had been often told about the hate crimes against homosexuals that happen in this country but l chose to turn a blind eye to it. I thought people were exaggerating it and that these people were just gay and weak which is why they got attacked! Couln’t they defend themselves? Oh well, this was before it happened to me. But me being me, l still believe that if l were better prepared on that day l could have defended myself. l did not expect it to happen so fast.

Seated on a bus, l noticed a very hot guy boarding the bus at one of the stops. He caught my attention the minute he got onto the bus. As they nowadays, he was dripping! l had never seen a man with such natural beauty! He looked like the models we see on TV but still maintained an inexplicable natural feel. l looked him straight in the eyes as he walked by to find a seat at the back of the bus. He blinked in discomfort as I pierced through him with my eyes, admiring such work of Art by The Man Above. Or had he just winked at me!?

As we traveled, in my head l was busy arguing with myself but one thing was for sure, l needed his number or at least tell him that he was very handsome. But how was l to do that without him freaking out? l actually asked myself this question but then l don’t know what later clouded my judgment. Stupidity or just plain innocence l guess… 🤷🏾‍♂‍

I waited for him as we were disembarking from the bus. l greeted him and he responded nicely. His response was sweet enough awaken the silliness in me. ” l just wanted to tell you kuti wakanaka zvokuti (you are very handsome )”, I blurted. The nigga went from zero to one hundred in a split second. His response this time was nothing compared to his earlier one. In a dramatic loud voice, he screamed, “What the fuck? Unondiudza kuti ndakanaka ukundiona kunge ngochani here inini? (Why would you tell me l am handsome? Do you think l am gay?) Before l knew it, the crowds at market square rank had diverted their attention to us.

” Ingochani mupfanha uyu (this guy is gay)”, one of the men screamed from the crowds. Before l could even say a word, l started receiving slaps from everywhere. Everyone who got a chance to be close to me slapped me.

I started crying helplessly but clearly none of these men thought they were doing anything wrong. I was an outcast and needed to be taught a lesson! They didn’t pity me. My crying made them want to beat me some more! “Let’s burn him!” shouted one of the rank marshalls. l saw death knocking on my door. I smelt so much anger in these people. l could feel it from the beating they gave me.

Some blamed homosexuality for the prevailing droughts and bad economy. They believed it was God’s way of punishing them for letting homosexuals live freely. l guess everyone blames homosexuals for all their misfortunes…..

The police saved me from the angry mob. Yes the police! They came at the right time when l needed them the most. They were on patrol and had noticed the chaotic upsurge by market square. l know sometimes l say they are inefficient but I am grateful to them for they rescued me from the clutches of death. Blood was all over my face and I was bruised all over my body. l was in so much pain. They took me to the hospital for medical attention.

I have been suffering from post traumatic stress since then. But wait, what of those that are being beaten by their own families with the hopes of bringing them back to straightness? What of those that have no police to rescue them? The world has gotten so evil ..

Published by lifewithlancemapere

I am just a boy from the other side of the world who would like to share what life has showed him

One thought on “Homophobia is real

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started